Badminton stars shines in the Indian Sports Honour Awards

It has been no hiding that the sport which has grown and improved immensely in the recent times is badminton. This sport has gathered a large amount of audience not only in India but also in other parts of the world, especially by the advent of Premier Badminton League. And among this various superstars have come to light who have superbly performed in the international circuit such as Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth, PV Sindhu, HS Prannoy, B Sai Praneeth and much more. These players have performed exceptionally well and brought name and fame to the country.

Thus, to honour these players not only in badminton but in other sports like tennis, hockey, cricket, shooting, boxing etc. Indian sports honour awards took place in Mumbai on 28th of November. Indian Sports Honours is an initiative partnered with Indian skipper Virat Kohli and Sanjiv Goenka, with the vision to support the development of sports in India.


Tennis and badminton stars shine in the event

Many contenders were in line for the award in various categories but, the most coveted category was ‘Sportsman of the year’. There were many contenders but the Ace shuttler Kidambi Srikanth, who won four Super Series titles this year, bagged the Sportsman of the year award at the inaugural Indian Sports Honours awards. Even, Rio Olympics silver medalist PV Sindhu won the Sportswoman of the Year award in the individual sports category which was the same category for Srikanth.
Tennis star Sania Mirza was awarded the Inspirational Honour by the jury.

Thus, badminton stars winning these awards shows the amount of improvement being done in the field of such sports which doesn’t use to get much attention in the past. Apart from these stars there were various other sportspeople from different sports who also won various awards such as Ravichandran Ashwin who recently became the fastest player to bag 300 wickets in Test cricket and Mithali Raj Indian women’s cricket team skipper who led the team to the world cup finals won the award for Best Sportsman of the year in Team Sport Category. Abhinav Bindra was honoured with the transformational Contribution to sports award. With the advent of such events, we now expect that in the near future more rising stars should rise and add more feathers to the pride of our country.

Similar Articles