Hyderabad Hunters becomes the champion of PBL 2018!

Wow! Only one thing comes to our mind when we come to witness the heart-stopping finale which occurred in the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium on Sunday. It was a superbly played and executed match which almost got hold of the breath of the audience. But it ended with a thrill and ending up to the expectation of the spectators.
Both Bengaluru Blasters and Hyderabad Hunters played their best games and showed why they deserved a place to be in the finals of the third edition of Premier Badminton League.
It was a match which consisted with the world no.1 and the biggest favorite of the match, Viktor Axelsen of Bengaluru Blasters and the women’s Olympic champion Carolina Marin of Hyderabad Hunters, both winning their trump matches and taking their teams ahead into the final.

• The storyline and a breathtaking finish to the match

The Hyderabad went on the back foot when their doubles team of Markis Kido and Yoo Yeon Seong didn’t produce much of a fight against their Bengaluru counterparts and easily surrendering against their rivals and lost by 2-0 and went down by 1-0 in the match.
But the Hunters came back strongly in the next match and in their trump match their trump player Lee Hyun II came with flying colors and defeated the Indian rookie Shubhankar Dey by 2-0.
But soon Hyderabad’s happiness demolished as in the trump match Viktor Axelsen defeated the Hyderabadi counterpart B Sai Praneeth in a pretty one-way match by a scoreline of 15-5, 5-10. Axelsen dominated from the beginning of the match and brought his team ahead by 2-1 in the tie.
Again there was a twist in the story and in the next match Carolina Marin of Hyderabad easily defeated the Scottish Kristy Gilmour and fully remained in control of the match and won the match by 15-8, 15-14.
But the final match was the most overwhelming in which the pair of India’s Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Indonesia’s Pia Zebadiah put up a dominant display who defeated the Bengaluru player of Kim Sa Rang and N Sikki Reddy in the mix doubles match by 15-11, 15-12. And won the title of PBL 2018 for the Hyderabad Hunters.

Similar Articles